Political Music

presented by James Poke

James Poke presents this month’s Radio Icebreaker with a show devoted to political music and protest songs, from Plan B and Billy Bragg to George Crumb and Frederic Rzewski, taking in Linton Kwesi Johnson, Public Enemy, Bob Dylan, Steve Martland, Saul Williams, Louis Andriessen, Rage Against The Machine, Mos Def and an early Neneh Cherry rarity, plus many other tracks.


Plan B Ill Manors 3:46
Billy Bragg Which Side Are You On? 2:32
P J Harvey The Glorious Land 3:35
Asian Dub Foundation Real Great Britain 3:14
Linton Kwesi Johnson Reggae Fi Peach 2:41
Public Enemy 41:19 3:55
Bob Dylan The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll 5:26
M.I.A. Born Free 4:08
George Crumb / Kronos Quartet Black Angels – 1. Departure 5:38
Louis Andriessen / Netherlands Wind Ensemble de Staat (excerpt) 6:28
Steve Martland / Icebreaker Shoulder to Shoulder (excerpt) 5:13
Raw Sex, Pure Energy Stop The War 4:25
The Pop Group One Out Of Many 1:53
Linton Kwesi Johnson All Wi Doin Is Defendin 3:04
Saul Williams List Of Demands (Reparations) 3:18
Rage Against The Machine Kick Out the Jams (live) 4:35
Dead Prez Propaganda 5:15
Immortal Technique Impeach The President 3:05
Mos Def Mr Nigga, feat. Q-Tip 5:13
Linton Kwesi Johnson Two Sides of Silence 2:16
Frederic Rzewski / 8th Blackbird Coming Together 18:57

If you do not wish to subscribe to this mailing list, please email with the word ‘unsubscribe’ in the subject line to info@icebreaker.org.uk.

Posted on June 17, 2012 in Radio Icebreaker